

STATE COUNCIL ON AFFIRMATIVE ACTION ADIN PALAU, CHAIR

101 E. Wilson St., 4th Floor, Madison, WI 53703

October 3, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

State Council on Affirmative Action recognizes diversity efforts

MADISON - The Wisconsin State Council on Affirmative Action is pleased to announce the winners of the 20th Annual Diversity Awards. They recognize state agencies, universities and employees for contributions to diversity efforts and will be presented Oct. 24.

<u>The 2019 Diversity Award goes to the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development</u>, for the Wisconsin Pre-Apprenticeship Readiness Program and its strong commitment to providing apprenticeship opportunities and training support for underrepresented populations throughout the state.

<u>The 2019 Ann Lydecker Educational Diversity Award</u> goes to the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, where John and Patty Noel have offered the Noel Compass Scholars Program since 1996, providing full scholarships to attend UW-Stevens Point, internships and other opportunities to students of color at Wisconsin high schools, helping close the achievement gap and prepare for successful careers.

<u>Program Awards for Outstanding Achievement</u> will go to the <u>Department of Transportation</u> for the Aviation Career Education Program and the <u>University of Wisconsin Whitewater</u> for the Little Scholars Program.

<u>The Outstanding Leadership Award</u> will go to <u>State Patrol Superintendent Tony Burrell</u> of the <u>Department of Transportation</u> for the work he has done in encouraging employment of minorities in law enforcement and fostering a relationship with law enforcement and communities in the Milwaukee area.

<u>The Lifetime of Service Award</u> will go to **Dr. Roger Pulliam, Professor Emeritus** of the **University of Wisconsin Whitewater** for marking his nearly 60-year career in education with an unrelenting devotion to representing, including, and advocating for minority students and educators, and promoting the success of his students and community.

This is the 20th year the Council has recognized diversity efforts. It received 23 nominations this year. Criteria for the annual awards include measureable demonstration of initiatives, programs and practices that have led to the recruitment and retention of a diverse workforce or student body.

Recognizing award winners

This year's winners will be celebrated at the Council's annual Diversity Awards Ceremony at the Wisconsin State Capitol Assembly Chambers **Thursday**, **October 24**, **2019**, beginning at **12:30 pm**, followed by a reception in the Assembly Parlor at 2 p.m. The guest speaker will be James Parker, Professor Emeritus of History and Women's and Ethnic/Minority studies and former Council Chairman and member from 2005-2015. The awards ceremony will be conducted in conjunction with the Virginia Hart Special Recognition awards program, which honors women in state employment who have overcome hardships and made outstanding contributions in their state service. The public is invited to attend this inspirational event.

Background on award categories:

- 1) Diversity Award recognition for state of Wisconsin agencies and universities
- 2) Ann Lydecker Educational Diversity Award recognition for state of Wisconsin universities and technical colleges
- 3) Outstanding Leadership individual recognition of state/university employee for promoting diversity and demonstrating inclusiveness in a leadership role
- 4) Lifetime of Service individual recognition of state/university employee with 15+ years of service who has fostered diversity and inclusion throughout their career

For more information

Please visit the website: http://www.doa.state.wi.us/Divisions/Personnel-Management/Bureau-of-Affirmative-Action/SCAA-CouncilDiversity-Awards/Diversity-Award-from-the-State-Council-on-Affirmative-Action/

For additional questions, please contact: Nicole Guardiola, Senior Executive Equal Opportunity Specialist; Department of Administration, nicoler.guardiola@wisconsin.gov Division of Personnel Management, Bureau of Equity and Inclusion- 608-266-5709