

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

Tony Evers, Governor Joel Brennan, Secretary

To: State Agencies, Technical Colleges and University of Wisconsin Campuses

From: DOA Division of Personnel Management

Adín Palau, Chair

State Council on Affirmative Action

Date: May 7, 2019

Re: 2019 Diversity Awards

The Wisconsin State Council on Affirmative Action (Council) and the DOA Division of Personnel Management invite you to participate in the 20th annual Diversity Award program for 2019. In 2000, we came together for the first time to celebrate the accomplishments of state agencies and to promote best practices around diversity and inclusion. Since then we have celebrated many accomplishments, making Wisconsin a role model of distinction in the nation. The Diversity Award program recognizes the achievements of outstanding Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) and Affirmative Action (AA) practices among State Agencies, Technical Colleges and University of Wisconsin system campuses.

Equal employment opportunity and affirmative action programs are more important than ever. By highlighting the best practices of state government in EEO/AA, we hope to encourage their replication so that all agencies can build upon successes and foster program improvement. Your participation in this award program is essential to draw attention to EEO/AA efforts that ensure our progress toward an equitable and diverse workforce in state government.

The Diversity Award is structured to recognize winning <u>State Agencies</u>, <u>UW campuses</u>, and <u>Wisconsin Technical Colleges</u> for their strong commitment to the recruitment, retention and promotion of a diverse classified workforce as measured by the creation of programs, initiatives, and practices. The Ann Lydecker Educational Diversity Award is structured to recognize exceptional efforts made by <u>campuses of the University of Wisconsin system and the Wisconsin Technical College system</u> for their recruitment and retention of a diverse student and faculty workforce as evidenced by data showing improved outcomes.

The Diversity Award and Ann Lydecker Educational Diversity Award applications are due by September 13, 2019. A description of the Diversity Award program outlining the selection criteria and application procedures is enclosed. Selected agencies, colleges and universities will be notified of the award no later than September 27, 2019. Awards will be presented on October 24, 2019 at the Senate Parlor, State Capitol in Madison.

Please note that agencies, technical colleges and university campuses should submit only one program with accompanying data that shows its effectiveness. Past winning programs should not be submitted unless significant changes have occurred. Programs that have been submitted in the past, but have not been recognized, can be resubmitted with accompanying data.

Please contact Nicole Guardiola at (608) 266-5709 or e-mail: <u>nicoler.guardiola@wisconsin.gov</u> if you have any questions or need additional information.