

WISCONSIN

Labor Laws

Minimum Wage

Wisconsin Minimum Wage Rates

Effective Jul	y 24, 200	9 (Wis. St	at. ch. 104)
---------------	-----------	------------	--------------

neral Minimum Wage Ra	tes	Minimum Wage Rates for T	ipped Employees
Non-Opportunity	Opportunity	Non-Opportunity	Opportunity
Employees:	Employees:	Employees:	Employees:
\$7.25 per Hour	\$5.90 per Hour	\$2.33 per Hour	\$2.13 per Hour

Note: "Opportunity employee" means an employee who is not yet 20 years old and who has been in employment status with a particular employer for 90 or fewer consecutive calendar days from the date of initial employment.

Minimum Wage Rate	es for All Agricultural Employees	Minimum Rates for Caddi	es
Adults	\$7.25 per Hour	9 Holes	18 Holes
Minors	\$7.25 per Hour	\$5.90	\$10.50

For more information contact:

STATE OF V DEPARTMENT OF WORI EQUAL RIGH	KFORCE DEVELOPMENT
201 E WASHINGTON AVE, ROOM A100 MADISON WI 53703	819 N 6TH ST ROOM 723 MILWAUKEE WI 53203
PO BOX 8928 MADISON WI 53708-8928 Telephone: (608) 266-6860	Telephone: (414) 227-4384
Website: https://dw	d.wisconsin.gov/er/

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language, please contact us.

FRD-9247-F

Wisconsin Maximum Allowances for Board and Lodging Effective July 24, 2009

Non-Agricultural Emplo	yment
	Non-Opportunity Emp
Meals	\$87.00 Per Wee

	Non-Opportunity Employees	Opportunity Employees
Meals	\$87.00 Per Week	\$70.80 Per Week
	\$4.15 Per Meal	\$3.35 Per Meal
Lodging	\$58.00 Per Week	\$47.20 Per Week
	\$8.30 Per Day	\$6.75 Per Day

All Employees	
-	

Camp Counselor Employmer

	Weekly Salary for All Emp	loyees [Adults and Mino	rs]
	Board & Lodging	Board Only	No Board or Lodging
Salary Rates	\$210.00	\$265.00	\$350.00
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		-

When board or lodging provided by an employer is accepted and received by an employee, the employer is permitted to deduct up to the above amounts from the worker's paycheck. The amounts educted are used to determine if the employee is receiving the required minimum wage rates.

REV. 06/2020

NOTICE: This state has its own minimum wage law. Employers are also required to display the federal Employee Rights Under the Fair Labor Standards Act posting, which indicates the federal minimum wage. Where federal and state rates both apply to an mployee, the U.S. Department of Labor dictates that the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage rate.

THIS NOTICE IS FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.

Child Labor

Hours and Times of Day Minors May Work in Wisconsin

State and federal laws do not limit the hours that minors 16 years of age or over may work, except that they may not be employed or permitted to work during hours of required school attendance under Wis. Stat. § 118.15. State and federal laws also permit minors under 16 to work up to seven days per week in the delivery of newspapers

and agriculture. In most other types of labor, minors under 16 may only work six days a week. Most employers must obtain work permits for minors under 16 before permitting them to work. For further information, see the Wisconsin Employment of Minors Guide (ERD-4758-P).

Maximum Hours of Work for 14 & 15 year-old minors	After Labor Day through May 31	June 1 through Labor Day
<u>Daily Hours</u>		
Non-School Days	8 hours	8 hours
School Days	3 hours	3 hours
Weekly Hours		
Non-School Weeks	40 hours	40 hours
School Weeks	18 hours	18 hours
Permitted Time of Day	7am-7pm	7am-9pm

Employers subject to both federal and state laws must comply with the more stringent section of the two laws. **State** child labor laws prohibit work during times that minors are required to be in school, except for students participating in work experience and career exploration programs operated by the school

Minors under 16 years of age are limited to the maximum hours and time of day restrictions even though they may work for more than one employer during the same day or week.

Minors under 14 years of age are allowed to work in certain occupations (e.g., street trades, agriculture, and work in school lunch programs. See the Wisconsin Employment of Minors Guide, ERD-4758-P, for more detail). These minors are subject to the same hourly and time of day restrictions as minors who are 14 or 15 years of age.

Minors under 18 years of age may not work more than 6 consecutive hours without having a 30-minute, duty **Minors 16 & 17 years of age** who are employed after 11:00 pm must have 8 hours of rest between the end of one

Minimum Wage for minors is \$7.25 per hour. Employers may pay an "Opportunity Wage" of \$5.90 per hour for the first 90 days of employment. On the 91st day, the wage must increase to \$7.25 per hour.

For further information about the federal child labor laws call (608) 441-5221, or write to U.S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour, 740 Regent Street, Suite 102, Madison, WI 53715.

For further information about the state child labor laws, call the Equal Rights Division in Madison (608) 266-6860 or Milwaukee (414) 227-4384.

DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT — EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION PO BOX 8928 MADISON WI 53708 TELEPHONE: (608) 266-6860

Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

DWD is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need assistance with this information, please dial 7-1-1 for Wisconsin Relay Service. Please contact the Equal Rights Division at (608) 266-6861 to request information in an alternate format, including translated to another language.

ERD-9212-P

REV. 06/2020

Layoff Notification

Employee Rights under Wisconsin's Business Closing/Mass Layoff Notification Law

Under Wisconsin law, employees have certain rights and employers have certain obligations to give proper notice to their employees and others before taking certain actions.

What is a "business closing" or "mass layoff?"

A "business closing" requires notice if there is a permanent or temporary shutdown of an employment site or of one or more facilities or operating units at an employment site or within a single municipality that affects 25 or more employees (not including "new" or "low-hour" employees).

A "mass layoff" requires notice if there is a reduction in the workforce that is not a "business closing" and which affects the following number of employees (excluding new or low hour employees) at an employment site or within a single municipality

At least 25% of the employer's workforce or 25 employees, whichever is greater or

At least 500 employees.

Employees are counted if their employment is terminated (not including discharges for cause, voluntary departures, or retirements), if they are laid off for more than 6 months, or if their hours are reduced more than 50 percent during each month of any 6-month period, as the result of a business closing or mass layoff. New or low-hour employees - who have been employed for fewer than 6 of the 12 months preceding the date on which a notice is required or who average fewer than 20 hours of work per week - are **not** counted.

Who must provide notice and when?

FMLA

With certain exceptions, businesses employing 50 or more persons in the State of Wisconsin must provide written notice 60 days before implementing a "business closing" or "mass layoff" in this state. The federal or state government (and their political subdivisions), charitable or tax exempt institutions and organizations, and independent contractors are not covered under this law and do not have to provide notice. Additional exceptions exist in various situations involving strikes or lockouts, sales, relocations, temporary or seasonal employment, unforeseeable circumstances, natural or man-made disasters, temporary cessation in operations, or businesses in financial trouble.

What employees are entitled to receive notice?

Employees are entitled to receive notice if they are counted as part of "business closing" or "mass layoff." New or low-hour employees may also be entitled to receive notice in situations where there is a "business closing"

What can employees recover if notice is required and not given?

If an employer implements a "business closing" or "mass layoff" without providing required notice, an affected employee may recover back pay and benefits for each day that required notice was not provided (up to a maximum of 60 days). An affected employee may also recover attorney fees and costs in a lawsuit.

If you have questions regarding this law or wish to file a complaint, call or write us at:

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT **EOUAL RIGHTS DIVISION**

PO BOX 8928 MADISON WI 53708 819 N 6TH ST **ROOM 723** MILWAUKEE WI 53203

TELEPHONE: (414) 227-4384

Telephone: (608) 266-6860

201 E WASHINGTON AVE ROOM A100

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language, please contact us.

Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

ERD-9006-P

REV. 06/2020

Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Act

Section 103.10, Wisconsin Statutes, requires that all employers with 50 or more employees display a **copy of this poster in the workplace.** Employers with 25 or more employees are required to post their particular

Under state law all employers with 50 or more permanent employees must allow employees of either sex:

- Up to six (6) weeks leave in a calendar year for the birth or adoption of the employee's child, providing the leave begins within sixteen (16) weeks of the birth or placement of that child.
- Up to two (2) weeks of leave in a calendar year for the care of a child, spouse, domestic partner, as defined in § 40.02(21c) or 770.01(1) or parent or a parent of a domestic partner with a serious health condition

Up to two (2) weeks leave in a calendar year for the employee's own serious health condition.

This law only applies to an employee who has worked for the employer more than 52 consecutive weeks and for at least 1000 hours during that 52-week period. The law also requires that employees be allowed to substitute paid or unpaid leave provided by the employer for Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave. Employers may have leave policies, which are more generous than leaves required by the law.

A complaint concerning a denial of rights under this law **must be filed within 30 days** after the violation occurs or the employee should have reasonably known that the violation occurred, whichever is later.

For answers to questions about the law, a complete copy of the law, or to make a complaint about a denial of rights under the law contact:

STATE OF WISCONSIN **DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION**

201 E WASHINGTON AVE ROOM A100 819 N 6TH ST PO BOX 8928 R00M 723 MADISON WI 53708 **MILWAUKEE WI 53203**

TELEPHONE: (608) 266-6860 TELEPHONE: (414) 227-4384

Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language. please contact us.

ERD-7983-P

REV. 06/2020

Unemployment Ins.

Notice to Employees About Applying for WISCONSIN UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

dwd.wisconsin.gov/uiben/handbook/apply.htm



- When to Apply
- You are totally unemployed, Your weekly earnings are reduced,
- You expect to be laid off within the next 13 weeks, or
- You are participating in the Trade Adjustment Assistance (TTA)

Unsure if you will qualify? Apply to find out if you are eligible. Only DWD

IMPORTANT: You must file an initial claim application within seven days of the end of the calendar week in which you want to receive a UI benefit payment.

Information You Need To Apply:

- A username and password (for filing online).
- A valid email address or mobile phone number.
- Your current address.

Discrimination

can determine if you will qualify

- Your social security number. Your Wisconsin driver license or identification number (if you have
- Your work history for the last 18 months, including:
- Employers' business names.
- Employers' addresses (including zip code). Employers' phone number.

- First and last dates of work with each employer.
- Reason for no longer working with each employer. If you are not a U.S. citizen, your alien registration number,
- document number and expiration date. If you served in the military in the last 18 months, Form DD-214.
- If you are a federal civilian employee, Form SF-50 or SF-8.
- If you are a union member, the name and local number of your
- If you want UI benefit payments by direct deposit, your bank's routing number and your account number.

How to Apply

- 1. Go to my.unemployment.wisconsin.gov
- 2. Read and accept terms and conditions.
- 3. Create a username and password. lote: When you authorize to use online services, you may be mailed
- an identity verification letter with a code that must be entered within seven days
- 4. Log on to access your claimant portal. 5. Complete your initial claim application.

Apply online during these times:

9:00 AM - Midnight

Monday - Friday Available 24 Hours Modnight - 3:00 PM

Need Help?

For access to a computer and workforce services: Visit your closest Job Center wisconsinjobcenter.org/directory

For help using online services or if you are truly unable to

go online: Call Unemployment Insurance (UI) at (414) 435-7069

or toll-free (844) 910-3661 during business hours. State of Wisconsin DWD

Department of Workforce Development dwd.wisconsin.gov/ui

Notice to Employers: All employers covered by Wisconsin's Unemployment Insurance law are required to prominently display this poster where employees will easily see it. If employers do not have a permanent work site regularly accessed by employees, an individual copy is to be provided to each employee. For additional copies, visit: dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/ui/notice.htm or call (414) 438-7705. **Notice to Employees:** The federal Social Security Act requires that you give us your social security number. It will be used to verify your identity and determine your eligibility. If you do not provide your social security number, we cannot take your claim.

DWD is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and $need\ assistance\ with\ this\ information,\ please\ dial\ 7-1-1\ for\ Wisconsin\ Relay\ Service.\ Please$ contact the Unemployment Insurance Division at (414) 435-7069 to request information in an alternate format, including translated to another language.

REV. 01/04/2024

Wisconsin Fair Employment Law

Section 111.31-111.395 Wisconsin Statutes and DWD 218 Wisconsin Administrative Code requires that all employers prominently display this Poster in all places of employment.

t is unlawful to discriminate against employees and job applicants because of their:

- Use of Lawful Products Arrest or Conviction
- Honesty Testing Ancestry Disability National Origin
- **Marital Status** Pregnancy or Childbirth Sexual Orientation Creed (Religion) Genetic Testing Military Service
- Declining to Attend a Meeting or Participate in any Communication About Religious or Political Matters

This law applies to employers, employment agencies, labor unions and licensing agencies. Employers may not require certain types of honesty testing or genetic testing as a condition of employment, nor Employees may not be harassed in the workplace based on their protected status nor retaliated against for filing a complaint, for assisting with a complaint, or for opposing discrimination in the workplace.

There is a 300-day time limit for filing a discrimination complaint. For more information or a copy of the law and the administrative rules contact:

TELEPHONE: (608) 266-6860

STATE OF WISCONSIN **DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT**

EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION 201 E WASHINGTON AVE ROOM A100 819 N 6TH ST PO BOX 8928 **ROOM 723** MADISON WI 53708 MILWAUKEE WI 53203

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language, please contact us

Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

REV. 06/2020

TELEPHONE: (414) 227-4384

Health Benefits

discipline an employee because of the results.

Advance Notice Required When Employers Decide to Cease Providing a Health Care Benefit Plan

ERD-4531-P

Wisconsin law (Wis. Stat. § 109.075) requires employers who plan to discontinue health care benefits to current employees, retirees, and dependents of employees or retirees in some instances to provide the affected individuals with 60 days' notice of the cessation of benefits.

A: An employer who operates a business enterprise in Wisconsin that employs 50 or more persons in the state must provide written notice of its intention to cease providing health care benefits to affected parties.

Q: Who is an affected individual entitled to this notice? A: Employees, any union representing employees of the business, retirees, and dependents of employees and retires currently covered by the health care plan are entitled to receive 60 days' written notice that the benefits will cease.

Q: Why should an affected person file a complaint about not receiving 60 days' notice of the cessation of a health care benefit plan?

A: A person who did not receive proper notice may receive either the value of the insurance premium(s) for the period without notice or the actual value of medical expenses incurred during the non-notification period (maximum of 60 days).

Q: If I have questions concerning this requirement or if I wish to file a complaint about not receiving notice, whom should I contact?

STATE OF WISCONSIN

A: Contact either the Equal Rights Division in Milwaukee or Madison listed below.

DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION 201 E WASHINGTON AVE, ROOM A100 819 N 6TH ST

PO BOX 8928 ROOM 723 MILWAUKEE WI 53203 MADISON WI 53708 TELEPHONE: (414) 227-4384 Telephone: (608) 266-6860

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language,

Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

Honesty Testing

Employee Protections Against Use of Honesty Testing Devices (Wis. Stat. § 111.37)

ERD-11054-P

Employers who use honesty testing must display this poster in one or more conspicuous places where notices to employees are customarily posted.

Under Wisconsin law, requiring or requesting that an employee or applicant take an honesty test (lie detector) is unlawful or heavily regulated. Further, employers may not discriminate against a person who refuses to take a test

An employer **may request** that an employee take a test in connection with an investigation involving economic loss or injury to a business if the employee is a reasonable suspect. Honesty tests **can be used** by law enforcement agencies and certain businesses engaged in providing security

services, alarm systems, and who manufacture, distribute or sell controlled substances.

Any legally permitted honesty test is subject to strict safeguards, including an examinee's right to proper notice, the ight to discontinue a test at any time and the right to advance written notice of the questions to be asked.

Victims of unlawful honesty testing may file a complaint within 300 days after the date the unfair honesty testing occurred, at one of the offices below.

STATE OF WISCONSIN **DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION**

STREET ADDRESS: 201 E WASHINGTON AVE ROOM A100

MADISON WI 53703 **MAILING ADDRESS:** PO BOX 8928

> MADISON, WI 53708-8928 TELEPHONE: (608) 266-6860 TELEPHONE: (414) 227-4384 Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a

disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language, please contact us. ERD-10861-P

REV. 06/2020

819 N 6TH ST ROOM 723

MILWAUKEE WI 53203

REV. 06/2020

Leave

Employee & Applicant Rights

WISCONSIN BONE MARROW AND ORGAN DONATION LEAVE ACT

Section 103.11, Wisconsin Statutes, requires all employers with 50 or more employees to display a copy of this poster in the workplace. Employers with 25 or more employees are required to post their particular leave policies.

Under state law all employers with 50 or more permanent employees must allow employees of either sex:

to serve as a bone marrow or organ donor and so long as the leave is only for the period necessary for the employee to undergo the bone marrow or organ donation procedure and to recover from the procedure. This law applies only to an employee who has worked for the employer more than 52 consecutive weeks and for at least 1000 hours during that 52-week period. The law also requires that employees be allowed to substitute paid or unpaid leave provided by the employer for Wisconsin Bone Marrow or Organ Donation Leave. Employers may have

Up to six (6) weeks leave in a 12-month period for the purpose of serving as a bone marrow or organ donor,

provided that the employee provides his or her employer with written verification that the employee is

leave policies, which are more generous than leaves required by the law. A complaint concerning a denial of rights under this law must be filed within 30 days after the violation occurs or the employee should have reasonably known that the violation occurred, whichever is later.

For answers to questions about the law, a complete copy of the law, or to make a complaint about a

denial of rights under the law contact: STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT **EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION**

PO BOX 8928 **MADISON WI 53708** Telephone: (608) 266-6860

819 N 6TH ST, ROOM 723 MILWAUKEE WI 53203 TELEPHONE: (414) 227-4384

Website: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/

The Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need it translated to another language, please contact us. ERD-18114-E-P

To update your labor law posters contact

REV. 06/2020

QR CODE Scan with phone camera: -OR Go to: JJKeller.com/LLPverify **ONLINE** Enter this code: 69512-012024

TWO ways to verify poster compliance!





Copyright 2024 J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc. • Neenah, WI • Printed in the USA This poster is in compliance with state posting requirements.

JAN2024 65904F

UCB-7-P