State Council on Affirmative Action


Photo credit: Hedi LaMarr Photography (​2019 Diversity Awards State Council on Affirmative Action, pictured from left to right: Karen Nelson, Nia Trammell, Fabiola Hamdan, DPM Administrator Malika Evanco, Governor Evers, SCAA Chair Adin Palau, Vice-Chair Corinda Rainey-Moore, Alenka Dries, Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes, Shiva Bidar-Sielaff, SCAA Secretary Lisa Mortenson)

The State Council on Affirmative Action, appointed by the Office of the Governor and State legislature, advises the DPM Administrator on state affirmative action efforts.  The Council evaluates the progress of affirmative action programs throughout the civil service system, seeks compliance with state and federal regulations and recommends improvements in state affirmative action efforts as an employer.  In carrying out its responsibilities, the Council may recommend legislation, consult with agency personnel and other interested persons, conduct hearings and take other approproate action to promote affirmative action.  The Bureau of Equity and Inclusion provides staff to the Council.  Council meetings are held regularly and are open to the public.  The next meeting will occur at 9:00am on July 15th, 2020 via Microsoft Teams (link will be provided as date approaches).


​​(Photo credit: Hedi LaMarr; Pictured from left to right: SCAA Vice-Chair Corinda Rainey-Moore, SCAA Chair Adin Palau, DPM Administrator Malika Evanco, Bureau of Equity and Inclusion Director Laurice McGinnis Lincoln)

​​​SCAA News and Updates

May 26th, 2020: In accordance with the State Council on Affirmative Action (SCAA) Bylaws, Article IV Section C; the SCAA Council held elections for the Executive Committee during the May 13, 2020 Spring meeting. A quorum of duly appointed members were present for the election. The Nominating Committee presented a slate of executive committee/officers for election and members cast votes electronically. The officers elected are as follows: Adin Palau, Chair; Corinda Rainey-Moore, Vice Chair; Lisa Mortenson, Secretary; and, Shiva Bidar-Sielaff, Member At-Large. The Council members voted overwhelmingly to re-elect the current officers, and, to acknowledge their leadership before COVID-19 began and during the current pandemic. Congratulations to all four elected members of the council and thank you for your service!

About the SCAA:

The Council also created and facilitates the annual Diversity Awards for state agencies and higher learning institutions.  

For more information on the Council, call (608) 266-5709 or email:


Minutes from past State Council on Affirmative Action meetings

January 29, 2020
Minutes Pending
​December 5, 2019
Meeting Minutes
​​September 23, 2019
Agenda​​​Minutes Pending
July 18, 2019
Meeting Minutes

May 16, 2019

​AgendaMeeting Minutes
​March 14, 2019AgendaMinutes Unavailable

To request meeting agendas and minutes from meetings prior to 2019, please contact (608)266-5709.