Diversity Award from the State Council on Affirmative Action

Join the Governor’s State Council on Affirmative Action (SCAA) in celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Diversity Award!


 In commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the Diversity Award, the SCAA has announced TWO NEW AWARD CATEGORIES!

Click HERE for the nomination form for these categories

Supervisors and workgroup teams across Wisconsin state service are invited to nominate diversity leaders within their agencies for the Outstanding Leadership Award and the Lifetime of Service Award.  These awards recognize individual contributions to an inclusive, equitable, and healthy workplace made by state employees in leadership positions or with at least 15 years of state service. Nominations for these two new categories are now being accepted, and will be incorporated as part of the Diversity Award Program in the years to come. Criteria for the new and traditional diversity awards can be found below.
The SCAA established the Diversity Award in 2000 to recognize the achievements of outstanding affirmative action and equal employment opportunity practices among state agencies.  The Diversity Award is structured to recognize state agencies, Wisconsin Technical Colleges and UW campuses for their strong commitment to the recruitment, retention and promotion of a diverse classified workforce as measured by the creation of programs, initiatives, and practices.
In addition to the annual Diversity Award, the SCAA began recognizing institutions of higher learning in 2003 for their exceptional efforts in preparing minorities, women, and persons with disabilities for employment in the State of Wisconsin.  In 2004, the award was named The Ann Lydecker Educational Diversity Award to honor UW-River Falls Chancellor Ann Lydecker.  The Ann Lydecker Award is structured to recognize exceptional efforts made by University of Wisconsin campuses for their recruitment and retention of a diverse student and faculty workforce as evidenced by data showing improved outcomes.
The SCAA also awards Program Achievement commendations to participating agencies and higher learning institutions as part of the Diversity Award selection process. The Program Achievement award recognizes efforts that demonstrate strong commitment, initiative or innovation to address diversity issues within state employment and higher education.
The criteria and procedure for the nomination processes can be found below. The deadline for nominations is Friday, September 13, 2019. Nominations can be submitted by email to nicoler.guardiola@wisconsin.gov.  The 2019 Diversity Award Ceremony will be held on Thursday, October 24th, 2019 at the Wisconsin State Capitol.
This year's award ceremony will also include the Virginia Hart Special Recognition Award, which recognizes the contribution and achievements of women in Wisconsin State Government.

2019 Requests for Nominations:
Award Criteria:
Questions: If you have any questions, please contact Nicole Guardiola by e-mail at nicoler.guardiola@wisconsin.gov or by telephone at (608)266-5709.

Prior Awards: The 2018 Diversity Award Ceremony was held last year on Thursday, October 25th, 2018 in the Senate Parlor at the State Capitol.  The ceremony highlights from 2014 - 2018 can be viewed in the SCAA Honors Publication of 2018.pdf.


SCAA Member Roster: